PM Chairs Cabinet Meeting

The federal government has approved posting and transfer of chief secretaries and inspectors general of all the four provinces to ensure impartial and transparent elections.

The decision was made at a special meeting of the cabinet chaired by caretaker Prime Minister Justice Retired Nasir-ul-Mulk in Islamabad on Wednesday.

Akbar Hussain Durrani has been appointed as Chief Secretary Punjab, Azam Salman Khan Sindh, Akhtar Nazir Balochistan, and Naveed Kamran Baloch as Chief Secretary of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

The cabinet also gave approval to the appointment of inspectors general of police in all the four provinces. Kaleem Imam was appointed in Punjab, Amjad Javed Saleemi in Sindh, Muhammad Tahir in KP, and Mohsin Hassan Butt in Balochistan.

These appointments were made after consultations with the election commission of Pakistan and the provincial governments.