ICC Announces Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule

The International Cricket Council confirmed the schedule of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, which will be staged in England and Wales from 30 May to 14 July.

England will open the tournament at the oval on 30 May when they will take on South Africa, while Australia will launch their title defense on 1 June against Afghanistan in a day/night match in Bristol.

Reigning ICC Champions Trophy winners and former champions Pakistan will start their campaign against West Indies at Trent Bridge in Nottingham on 31 May.

India will play their first match on 5 June against South Africa at the Hampshire bowl in Southampton.

Their feature match against traditional rivals Pakistan will be at Old Trafford in Manchester on 16 June.

Old Trafford in Manchester and Edgbaston in Birmingham will stage the two semi-finals on 9 and 11 July, while Lord’s will play host to a world cup final for the fifth time, on 14 July. All these three matches will have reserve days.

Eleven world-class venues will be used in the 46-day tournament in which each side will play the other once in a single-league format with the top four sides after 45 matches progressing to the semi-finals.