Joint Sitting Of The Parliament

The joint sitting of the Parliament passed all three bills to meet the requirements of Financial Action Task Force to steer the country out of grey list.

Prime Minister Imran Khan also attended the joint session which was chaired by National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser.

Leader of the opposition in the National Assembly Shehbaz Sharif, PPP Chief Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari, former Premier Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, JaMaat-i-Islami Senators Sirajul Haq and Mushtaq Ghani and PPP Senator Raza Rabbani among others were also in attendance.

Advisor to PM on Parliamentary Affairs Dr Babar Awan tabled the management and administration of Islamabad Territory Waqf Properties-2020 Bill.

Member National Assembly Kanwal Shozab tabled the Anti-Money Laundering Second Amendment Bill-2020.

The joint sitting of the Parliament adopted both bills with majority vote while all amendments related to the bill tabled by the opposition members were rejected with majority vote.

PTI MNA Faheem Khan tabled the Anti-Terrorism Act (Amendment) Bill, 2020 which was also passed without opposition.

Responding to a question, Babar Awan said, the bills are vital to protect Pakistan from grey listing of Financial Action Task Force.

Babar Awan also tabled the surveying and mapping bill 2020 and Islamabad High Court Amendment Bill 2020.

Both the bills are being adopted clause-wise in the Parliament.

Joint session of Parliament is currently underway to vote on crucial Financial Action Task Force-related legislation.