Ballon D'Or Award: Messi Wins For Record 6th Time

Lionel Messi claimed a record sixth Ballon D'or Award, beating Liverpool's leading nominees and Cristiano Ronaldo to lift soccer's most prestigious individual trophy.

The argentine added to his 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015 trophies. He finished above Dutchman Virgil Van Dijk and Portugal's third-placed Ronaldo, who has won the award five times.

Megan Rapinoe Earlier won the women's Ballon d'Or after leading the united states to a record-extending fourth world cup title in France this year as they retained the trophy.

The 34-year-old midfielder succeeded Norway's Ada Hegerberg who did not take part in the world cup.

Dutchman Matthijs De Ligt won the Kopa Trophy for the best under-21 male player.